APRU Multi-Hazards Summer School - Registration Open


 

Dear Multi-Hazards Colleagues and Students, 


In the following message, you will find information related to the APRU-IRIDeS Multi-Hazards Virtual Summer School and Architecture and Urban Design for Disaster Risk Reduction and Resilience Forum.

Please forward this email to your colleagues and students who are interested in risk-resilient environment and Disaster Risk Reduction.
 

APRU-IRIDeS Multi-Hazards Virtual Summer School 2020

The APRU-IRIDeS Multi-Hazards Virtual Summer School 2020 is organized by the APRU Multi-Hazards Program and the International Research Institute of Disaster Science at Tohoku University. The event aims to share the experiences and lessons learnt from the Great East Japan Earthquake and Tsunami (GEJET), learn from the experiences in disaster risk reduction (DRR) and risk management from various stakeholders, and find out the latest disaster science research conducted by the researchers globally. The event consists of three sessions held via zoom webinar.

Date & Time
July 14, July 21, and July 28 at 7 pm (San Francisco & Vancouver)/ 9 pm (Mexico City & Quito)
July 15, July 22, and July 29 at 9 am (Bangkok & Jakarta)/ 10 am (HK & Manila)/ 11 am (Tokyo & Seoul)

Duration: 2 hours

Theme
Day 1  Lessons learned from the Great East Japan Earthquake and Tsunami
Day 2  Role of various stakeholders in disaster risk reduction
Day 3  Latest research in disaster science

Please find the speakers' bios and more information here.
 

Register Now

The ArcDR³ Forum Vol.1 is the first ArcDR³ event in the series of research, symposia, and exhibitions organized by the Initiative. Under the umbrella of Grand Syllabus, proposed by ArcDR³ Initiative, 11 participating universities from the region with recurring risks of natural disasters, present local syllabi for the context-specific design studio in the 2020-2021 academic year.


Date & Time
June 26 at 4 pm Pacific Time (US/ Canada) and 7 pm (Santiago)
June 27 at 7 am (Beijing/ Hong Kong/ Singapore/ Taipei), 8 am (Tokyo) and 9 am (Melbourne)

Duration: 4 hours

Program
There will be three panels and breakout discussions held on the Forum.
Please click here to view the proceeding.

About ArcDR³
Architecture and Urban Design for Disaster Risk Reduction and Resilience (ArcDR³) Initiative is an international platform that brings together 11 universities from Pacific Rim region for the production and exchange of knowledge on environmental design that reduces the risk of recurring disasters and enhances resilience through the integration of theory (research) and practice (design).

Participating Universities
National University of Singapore, The University of Hong Kong, The University of Melbourne, Tohoku University, Tsinghua University, UC Berkeley, UCLA, University of Washington, National Cheng Kung University, Pontifical Catholic University of Chile, and The University of Tokyo
 

Watch Live Stream Here

 

https://mailchi.mp/apru/multi-hazards-summer-school-and-arcdr3-webinars?...

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wednesday, July 15, 2020